top of page
  • Writer's pictureSkykraft media

Skykraft wins 2023 Australian Space Award

Celebrating the best of the best in Australia’s space sector, Skykraft has won the company award for innovation at the 2023 Australian Space Awards.

Skykraft's co-founder and Chief Innovation Officer Craig Benson accepted the award on behalf of the team at the awards ceremony in Sydney.

Craig shared some insights into Skykraft's journey, including:

  • creating a team culture where no one is afraid to fail, allowing the team to make real decisions;

  • working with an all-Australian supply chain to support the rapid design, manufacture and delivery of our enhanced satellite platform;

  • and the most outstanding innovation, building, qualifying, integrating then sending Australia’s largest manufactured space object (300kg) to space to deliver a dedicated constellation of satellites for Skykraft’s space-based air traffic management service.

In mid-2023 our next scheduled launch will then double this amount to 600 kg.

Pictured L-R: Skykraft's Chief Engineer Doug Griffin, ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr, Skykraft's Media & Comms Jacqui Tyack, and Chief Innovation Officer Craig Benson.

Congratulations to all finalists and winners. The Skykraft team were finalists in 4 categories:

  • Business of the Year – SME: Skykraft

  • Innovator of the Year – Company: Skykraft

  • Engineer of the Year: Dr Douglas Griffin, Chief Engineer

  • Space Professional of the Year: Jacqui Tyack, Communications and Mediaxx

Pictured L-R: Skykraft team on stage, Skykraft team with Head of the Australian Space Agency Enrico Palermo and the Award.

View all of the winners and finalists at the 2023 Space Connect Australian Space Awards.

803 views0 comments


bottom of page